Match Reports‎ > ‎

ACFL Div 5: Athlone v Milltownpass

posted 19 May 2014, 04:26 by Athlone GAA   [ updated 20 May 2014, 01:35 ]

ACFL Division 5

Athlone 5-18 Miltownpass 0-9

Athlone’s Junior team maintained their 100% record in Division 5 of the ACFL when they defeated a game but outmatched Miltownpass side in Pairc Chairain on Sunday morning.

Athlone started well and were leading by 0-5 to 0-1 with points from Joe Fallon (0-2), Jordan Marshment (0-2) and Neil Scally when Joe Fallon goaled from distance.  Miltownpass responded with their second point but Athlone answered that with an Andy Lynam point before two Athlone goals in succession finished the game as a contest.  The first was a clever finish low into the corner from Dylan Lynch while the second saw Noel Mulligan finish off a great team move with his fist.  Dermot Pigott became the third member of Athlone’s defence to get his name on the scoresheet when punched over, while Jordan Marshment and Glenn Costello added further points to leave the half-time score 3-9 to 0-4 in Athlone’s favour.

Miltownpass opened the second half scoring with a point but points from Dylan Lynch and Neil Scally cancelled that out.  Scally then scored his first goal when he turned in Noel Mulligan’s ‘clever’ pass, before he added a point from a free.  Eamon Martin was next to get on the scoresheet with a point, then Scally, who had an explosive return to the blue and white, scored his second goal and followed that up with a point to complete his personal tally of 2-4.  Centre-half back Andy Lynam then scored his second and third points, before Dylan Lynch and Glenn Costello added minor scores to leave Athlone with an impressive final total of 5-18 to Miltownpass’s 0-9.

Scorers:  Neil Scally 2-4, Joe Fallon 1-2, , Dylan Lynch 1-2, Noel Mulligan 1-0, Jordan Marshment 0-3, Andy Lynam 0-3, Glenn Costello 0-2, Dermot Pigott 0-1, Eamon Martin 0-1

Team: Ken Gaynor, Dermot Pigott, Conal Sheeran, Emmet Kiely, Glenn Costello, Andy Lynam, Noel Mulligan, Aidan St. John, Jason Merrigan, Seamus Byrne, Jordan Marshment, Eamon Martin, Joe Fallon, Neil Scally, Dylan Lynch, Brian Fogarty, Eoghan O'Reilly.