Match Reports‎ > ‎

U21 FC

posted 15 Aug 2017, 14:46 by Athlone GAA

Athlone 2-16 Tubberclair 1-7

Despite the wet conditions in Tubberclair, Athlone came flying out of the blocks with excellent points from Daniel Reid and Ryan Gaffey in the opening minute, and further points from Gaffey and a Richie Greene free had them four ahead with four minutes played.  The home side then found their feet and dominated possession for the next 10 minutes, but good defending from the Athlone backs, with the full back line especially impressive, restricted them to just one pointed free in this period.  Athlone then re-established control with a long range Kieran Colclough free and a Ryan Gaffey 45, before a brilliant team move set up Richie Greene for the opening goal of the match.  Tubberclair responded well to this setback by scoring the next three points of the game, but a late Ryan Gaffey free gave Athlone a six point half time lead of 1-7 to 0-4.

Daniel Reid almost gave Athlone a dream start to the second half, but was just wide with a powerful goal effort straight from the throw-in, although Athlone were soon on the board for the second period with fine points from Tadhg Prendergast and Shane Allen.  Again, however, the home side responded well and a brace of points left them just two goals behind with 15 minutes to play.  Just as it looked like Athlone could be in for a difficult closing quarter, they regained the initiative and points from Kieran Colclough, Daniel Reid, Ryan Gaffey and Fionn Dowd put more daylight between the sides, before Richie Greene made the game safe with a superb second goal.  Two well-taken scores from Enda Daly and another Gaffey free stretched the lead further, and although Tubberclair had the last word with a late goal, Athlone had done enough to set up a home quarter-final tie against St Loman’s.

Athlone:  Conor Devaney, Eoin Fahey, James Finlass, Shane Galvin, Shane Allen (0-1), Fionn Dowd (0-1), Luke Kelly, Daniel Reid (0-2), Diarmuid Martin, Donagh Prendergast, Josh Beaumont, Kieran Colclough (0-2), Ryan Gaffey (0-6), Tadhg Prendergast (0-1), Richie Greene (2-1)  Subs:  Sam Omukoro, David Cleary, Enda Daly (0-2), Robert Teape, JJ Offorjama, Deba Okodugha, John Duddy.