Match Reports‎ > ‎

Minor League Division 1

posted 15 Aug 2016, 09:10 by Athlone GAA

Athlone 3-13 Shandonagh 3-9

Our minor boys’ completed their league campaign when an excellent first half performance paved the way for this victory over a strong Shandonagh side.

Athlone got off to a dream start with two well-taken goals from Aaron Forde and Sean Dowd in the opening five minutes and, despite Shandonagh settling and coming much more into the game, a succession of excellent points from Donagh Prendergast, Daniel Reid, JJ Offorjama and Benny Martin gave them an eight point lead with five minutes left in the half.  A speculative goal kept the visitors in touch, but Athlone responded well and an excellent Shane Allen goal and another Benny Martin point gave them a nine point lead at the break.


Boosted by the half-time arrival of some latecomers, Shandonagh started the second half strongly and a second goal brought them back into it. Further points from Daniel Reid and the Prendergast brothers kept the scoreboard ticking over for Athlone, but some excellent free taking from the visitors meant that the result was still in the balance as the game entered its closing 10 minutes.  A fine score from JJ Offorjama, followed immediately by another from Benny Martin when the subsequent short kickout went awry, looked to have finally made the game safe for the home team, but Shandonagh had other ideas and a third goal, backed up by another point, reduced Athlone’s lead to three with five minutes still to play.  Shandonagh had all the momentum now and twice looked certain to score the equalising goal, only to be denied first by a great Eoin Fahey block and then by a superb save from John Duddy.  Athlone took advantage of these reprieves to lift the siege and an excellent free from distance from Sean Dowd finally killed off the Shandonagh challenge to see Athlone home on a scoreline of 3-13 to 3-9.

Athlone:  John Duddy, James Finlass, Diarmuid Martin, Eoin Fahey, David Cleary, Robert Teape, Anthony Johnson, Daniel Reid (0-2), Shane Allen (1-0), Donagh Prendergast (0-2), Sean Dowd (1-2), JJ Offorjama (0-3), Enda Tynan Daly, Aaron Forde (1-0), Benny Martin (0-3)  Subs:  Tadhg Prendergast (0-1), Waseem Kamatch.