Match Reports‎ > ‎

Minor Championship Group 2

posted 24 Aug 2016, 10:37 by Athlone GAA

Athlone 3-16 Garrycastle 2-8

Our minor team qualified for the knockout stages of the Division 1 championship when they recovered from a wasteful opening half to defeat neighbours Garrycastle in the second round of the group stage, played in Garrycastle on Monday evening.  This game had been rescheduled as a mark of respect to the late Dermot McManus so our thanks to Garrycastle for facilitating this change at short notice.

Despite having most of the early possession and opening the scoring with points from Joseph Offorjama and Aaron Forde, Athlone were wasteful in front of goal and trailed a more economic Garrycastle side by 0-3 to 0-2 after 10 minutes.  Three quick points from Danny Reid and Benny Martin (0-2) should’ve settled Athlone, but they continued to squander good scoring opportunities and added only one more point, a free from Benny Martin, in the final 18 minutes of the half.  Fortunately for Athlone, the defence did an excellent job in marshalling Garrycastle’s attack in this period so, despite their profligacy, the visitors still led at the break on a scoreline of 0-6 to 0-5.

After Garrycastle had drawn level early in the second half, Athlone got a major boost when Danny Reid got on the end of a long ball to finish coolly to the net for his side’s first goal and this was quickly followed by another Benny Martin point.  Garrycastle did strike back with their own first goal but Athlone had finally found their shooting boots and six excellent unanswered points between the 40th and 50th minutes put some daylight between the sides, although Athlone did need a great block from Shane Allen not to concede a second goal in this period.   Two brilliantly taken goals from substitute Deba Okodugha added a further gloss to the scoreline and, despite the hosts closing the scoring with a fine goal of their own, Athlone had done enough and ran out winners on a score of 3-16 to 2-8.

Athlone:  John Duddy, James Finlass, Diarmuid Martin, Patrick McGettigan, , Robert Teape, Eoin Fahey, David Cleary, Danny Reid (1-2), Shane Allen (0-2), Joseph Offorjama (0-1),Sean Dowd (0-3), Donagh Prendergast, Benny Martin (0-7) Aaron Forde (0-1), Anthony Johnson  Subs:  Deba Okodugha (2-0)