Match Reports‎ > ‎

ACFL Division 1: Athlone v St. Lomans

posted 10 May 2016, 05:08 by Athlone GAA
ACFL Division 1  
Athlone 1-10 St Loman’s 2-14  

Athlone got off to the worst possible start when the visitors goaled in the first minute after a slick move, and they followed this up with three points from play as the hosts struggled with the movement of the reigning County champions.  However, a fine solo effort from John Connellan put Athlone on the board and they then enjoyed their own period of dominance, with two Ray Connellan points reducing the gap to a goal.  Athlone had some goal chances that would’ve seen them draw level but were denied by the Loman’s keeper and instead it was the Mullingar men who stretched their lead with another point.  An error in the home defence then presented Loman’s with a second goal, which was followed by a John Heslin 45 to put eight between them after 25 minutes.  Athlone raised their game again before the break and raised a green flag of their own when Jordan Marshment got on the end of a John Stapleton pass to fist to the net, while two Ray Connellan frees in injury-time left just a goal between them at the interval, 2-5 to 1-5 in favour of St Loman’s.

Boosted by this late scoring burst, the home side started the second period brightly and within a minute had reduced the gap to the minimum, with good scores from play from Ray Connellan and Fergal Murray.  Unfortunately that was as close as they could get as the experienced visitors regained control and, with John Heslin pulling the strings, they added the next six points to open up a comfortable seven point lead.  John Connellan did pull back a point from a free as the game entered its final 10 minutes but three similar scores at the other end put it beyond Athlone and two further injury-time points from Joe Fallon and John Connellan were just consolation scores.

Athlone:  Conor Devaney, Eoin Maher, Damo Kelly, Fergal Murray (0-1), Noel Mulligan, Stephen Ward, Tom Egan, John Stapleton, Jordan Marshment (1-0), John Egan, Jack Quinn, Matty Darling, Paul Bannon, Ray Connellan (0-5), John Connellan (0-3).  Subs Used:  Danny Lynam, Alan Gaughan, Mickey Greene, Joe Fallon (0-1), Andy Lynam, Dylan Lynch.