Match Reports‎ > ‎

ACFL Div 4: Athlone v Tubberclair

posted 4 May 2016, 05:21 by Athlone GAA
ACFL Division 4  (26/4/2016) 
Athlone 2-6 Tubberclair 0-7 

Our Junior men travelled to Tubberclair and earned their first win of the Division 4 campaign when they accounted for the home side after a hard-fought battle in bitterly cold conditions on Tuesday night.  The Athlone side was the classic Junior mix of youth and experience, with seven teenagers at one end of the age scale complemented by five hardy annuals with a combined age of 186 at the other!

After both sides had squandered some early chances, it was one of the aforementioned veterans who opened the scoring, when Aidan St John landed an excellent point from distance.   Another wise man, Joe Fallon, restored Athlone’s lead after Tubberclair had equalised, before Tadhg Prendergast stretched the lead to two when he finished off a good move.  Richie Greene had Athlone’s next score with a nice point, but this was sandwiched in between two Tubberclair points which meant that the visitors led by 0-4 to 0-3 midway through the half.  No further white flags were raised in the first half as both sides squandered good chances, but Athlone got a big boost just before the break when Richie Greene gathered a 45 that fallen short and finished neatly to the net to give the Blue a four point cushion at the interval.

The home side started the second half stronger and halved the deficit with two quick points.  However they missed chances to reduce the gap even further and a Joe Fallon free settled Athlone’s nerves.  Richie Greene then added another excellent point and when Mickey Greene goaled after a strong solo run, the visitors led by seven with 15 minutes to play.  This was to prove Athlone’s final score as the hosts dominated the final quarter of the match, but fortunately a combination of good defence and some poor finishing restricted Tubberclair to just two more points and Athlone held onto win on a scoreline of 2-6 to 0-7.

Athlone:  Conor Devaney,  Emmet Collins, Tom Egan, Conor Melinn, David Fagan, Andy Lynam, Eoin Jordan, Aidan St John (0-1), Fionn Dowd, Tadhg Prendergast (0-1), Joe Fallon (0-2), Kieran Rigney, Mickey Greene (1-0), Conal Sheeran, Richie Greene (1-2) Subs:  Jack Ruane, Tom Stuart-Trainor.